Robert Siegler, PhD

Drsiegler Pic

Robert Siegler, PhD

In Honor Of…Robert S. Siegler

Honoring scientists who have made important and lasting contributions to the sciences of mind, brain, and behavior.

Robert S. Siegler, PhD
Teresa Heinz Professor of Cognitive Psychology
Carnegie Mellon University

Robert S. Siegler is currently Teresa Heinz Professor of Cognitive Psychology at Carnegie Mellon University; as of September 1, 2018, he will be Schiff Foundation Professor of Psychology at Teachers College, Columbia University. His research focuses on how children learn mathematics and how theoretical understanding of mathematical development can be applied to improving that learning. Among his contributions are demonstrating the variability of strategy use, the adaptiveness of strategy choices, and the usefulness of microgenetic methods for indicating how cognitive change occurs. He has written 11 books, edited 6 others, and authored more than 250 articles, monographs, and book chapters. His books have been translated into French, German, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Spanish, Hebrew, and Greek. Dr. Siegler’s contributions have been honored in many ways, including being chosen for the American Psychological Association’s Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award in 2005, election to the National Academy of Education in 2010, being appointed Director of the Siegler Center for Innovative Learning at Beijing Normal University in 2012, and being elected to the Society of Experimental Psychologists in 2015. He has presented keynote addresses at over 30 conferences in more than 20 countries.

Individuals Honoring Robert Siegler:

Karen E Adolph, New York University
Anonymous Foundation
Drew Bailey, University of California, Irvine
Julie Booth, Temple University
Mary Brabeck, New York University
David Braithwaite, Carnegie Mellon University
Valerie Camos, Université de Fribourg
Zhe Chen, University of California, Davis
Sheldon Cohen, Carnegie Mellon University
Allan Collins, Northwestern University
Linnea C. Ehri, Graduate Center, CUNY
Lisa Fazio, Vanderbilt University
Brooke Feeney, Carnegie Mellon University
Stuart Firestein, Columbia University
Anna Fisher, Carnegie Mellon University
David Klahr, Carnegie Mellon University
Patrick Lemaire, Aix-Marseille University & CNRS
Jianping Ling, United Nations Secretariat
Brian MacWhinney, Carnegie Mellon University
James L. McClelland, Stanford University
*Nora Newcombe, Temple University
Geetha Ramani, University of Maryland, College Park
Daniel Schwartz, Stanford University
Roman Taraban, Texas Tech University
Clarissa Thompson, Kent State University
Jing Tian, Carnegie Mellon University
Nim Tottenham, Columbia University
Theresa Treasure, Carnegie Mellon University
Liya Zhang


* FABBS would like to thank Dr. Nora Newcombe for nominating Dr. Siegler for this honor and for leading the effort.

You can also honor Robert Siegler, PhD

It's not too late to have your name added to the list of donors! You can make your donation to this In Honor Of… campaign at anytime.