IDEA Awards

IDEA Award Call for Nominations.

The IDEA Award Nomination period for 2024 is now closed. Selections will be announced in December 2023.

FABBS is proud to announce the Award for Inclusivity, Diversity, Equity, and Accessibility – or IDEA Award – to recognize and honor distinguished research, professional practice, and activities (such as mentorship), that advance these principles in the behavioral and brain sciences.  The 2023 inaugural awardees were selected for their established track record of mentorship, outstanding scholarship that advances goals of IDEA, and significant advocacy or service impacts.

2023 Senior Scholar Lifetime Achievement Awardee
James Jones in his office
Photo of Professor James Jones.

James M. Jones, PhD

University of Delaware

2023 Kellina Craig-Henderson Early to Mid-Career Awardee
Photo of Professor Jacqueline M. Chen.

Jacqueline M. Chen, PhD

University of Utah

FABBS has elected to name the Inclusivity, Diversity, Equity, and Accessibility (IDEA) Award in memory of Kellina Craig-Henderson, who led the Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences (SBE) Directorate from January to June of 2022, following over 16 years of service to the National Science Foundation (NSF).


A dedicated leader, Dr. Craig-Henderson worked tirelessly to engage underrepresented groups in science. Thanks to her leadership, NSF launched Build and Broaden and the Science of Broadening Participation, two programs aimed at increasing diversity and inclusion in science. Dr. Craig-Henderson was a social psychologist and a prolific writer, covering topics such as discrimination, racial identity, and interracial relations in her published articles and book chapters. The FABBS Kellina Craig-Henderson IDEA award recognizes early to mid-career behavioral scientists who exemplify mentorship, service, and scholarship to advance diversity, equity, and inclusion in science. Naming this award in honor of Dr. Craig-Henderson recognizes her significant contributions to the advancement of these goals. and celebrates the legacy of her life’s contributions.