Council of Representatives

FABBS is guided by the input of our member societies and their scientists through the Council of Representatives.

About the Council

Council members interact with the FABBS Board and staff regularly regarding the interests and concerns of scientists in their society. The Council meets annually in Washington, DC, where speakers from federal agencies, the Administration, and other organizations of interest address our Council members, informing them of the latest developments and engaging in thoughtful discussion about the role of our sciences in society and the state of federal research investments. This process helps shape an agenda that represents the broad interests of our scientists and concerns of particular societies.


Paul M. Lehrer, PhD

Rutgers University

Male Silhouette

Jonathan W Pinkston, PhD

University of North Texas


Sue Everson-Rose, PhD

University of Minnesota

Felice J. Levine, PhD

Executive Director

Garcini Picture

Luz Garcini, PhD

Rice University

Adrienne Stith Butler, PhD

American Psychological Association

Mitch Prinstein, PhD

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Aps Tara Gruenwald Headshot

Tara Gruenewald

Chapman University

Christopher R. Beam, PhD

University of Southern California

George “Ron” Mangun, PhD

University of California, Davis


Tom Griffiths, PhD

Princeton University

Jennifer Mangels, PhD

CUNY Baruch College

Tzipi Horowitz-Kraus, PhD

Cincinatti Children’s Hospital

Koraly Pérez-Edgar, PhD

Pennsylvania State University

beth c arredondo NAN

Beth C. Arredondo, PhD, ABPP-CN

Ochsner Health System

Louis Shomette

Executive Director


Angela Gutchess, PhD

Brandeis University

Sbm Ellen Beckjord

Ellen Beckjord, PhD, MPH

UPMC Health Plan

Gregory Ball, PhD

University of Maryland

Erin Buchanan Scip

Erin Buchanan, PhD

Harrisburg University

Lora Park Sesp

Lora Park, PhD

University at Buffalo

Sussman Headshot Resized

Abigail Sussman, PhD

University of Chicago

Sy-Miin Chow, PhD

Pennsylvania State University

Robin Thomas, PhD

Miami University

Anila Balkissoon, M.S.

Executive Director

Bruce D. Bartholow, PhD

University of Iowa

Screen Shot 2024 07 11 At 2.39.29 Pm

Sarah Beal, PhD

Chair of Social Policy Committee

Suzanne Le Menestrel, PhD, CAE

Director of Science Affairs


Juan Romero-Casillas

Policy Manager

James M. Gold, PhD

University of Maryland

People Patton Terry 4x5 1

Nicole Patton-Terry, PhD

Florida State University

Joseph Magliano, PhD

Georgia State University

Images (2)

Shauney Wilson

Executive Director