Diane F. Halpern PhD


Diane F. Halpern PhD

In Honor Of… Diane F. Halpern

Honoring scientists who have made important and lasting contributions to the sciences of mind, brain, and behavior.

Diane F. Halpern
Emeritus Professor of Psychology at Claremont McKenna College



Diane F. Halpern is an internationally recognized expert in several fields within the psychological sciences, including critical thinking, gender studies, and the learning sciences. Her journey began when she graduated Cum Laude from the University of Pennsylvania with a B.A. in Psychology in 1969. After receiving two Masters degrees from Temple University and the University of Cincinnati, she earned her Ph.D. from the University of Cincinnati in 1979 with highest honors. Diane has taught at California State University at San Bernardino, Claremont McKenna College, and served as the Dean of Social Sciences in the Minerva Schools at the Keck Graduate Institute. During her time at Claremont McKenna College, she was the Director of the Berger Institute for Work, Family, and Children, was Named McElwee Family Professor of Psychology and George Roberts Fellow, and served as department chair for several years. In addition to her academic appointments, she was the president of the American Psychological Association in 2004, the president of the Western Psychological Association from 1999 to 2000, and the president of the Society for Teaching of Psychology from 1997 to 1998.

Diane Halpern has received over 30 awards for teaching and research in psychology. These include the Outstanding Professor Award from the Western Psychological Association, the American Psychological Foundation (APA) Award for Distinguished Teaching, the Distinguished Career Award for Contributions to Education given by the APA, and the California State University’s State-Wide Outstanding Professor Award. In the year of 2013, the Association for Psychological Science awarded her the James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award for a lifetime of outstanding contribution to applied psychological research (the highest award that APS confers) and APA awarded her with the Raymond D. Fowler Award for Outstanding Contributions.

Diane has authored over a dozen books, including Thought and Knowledge: An Introduction to Critical Thinking, Sex Differences in Cognitive Abilities, and Women at the Top: Powerful Leaders Tell Us How to Combine Work and Family. She has authored approximately 250 journal articles and book chapters. One of her prominent contributions has been promoting psychology in the popular press, including professional podcasts (e.g., TED talk) and numerous appearances and interviews in newspapers, radio and TV. She has provided testimony to Congress on three separate occasions, and briefed the United States White House Staff.  This is the essence of advocacy that is the hallmark of FABBS.


Individuals Honoring Diane F. Halpern:  

Anonymous (2)
Dale Berger, Claremont Graduate University
Rebecca Bigler, University of Texas at Austin
*Heather Butler, California State University, Dominguez Hills
Zhiqiang Cai, University of Memphis
Fanny Cheung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Marcia Collaer, Middlebury College
Mark Costanzo, Claremont McKenna College
Lise Eliot, The Chicago Medical School of Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine & Science
Robert Feldman, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
*Carol Forsyth, Educational Testing Service, Princeton
*Arthur C. Graesser, University of Memphis
Erin Greilick
Maciel Hernandez, Arizona State University
Karrie Hilliard, University of Houston
Miu Chi Lun, Lignan University
Lisa Marin, Claremont Graduate University
*Keith Millis, Northern Illinois University
J. Bruce Overmier, University of Minnesota
Catherine Reed, Claremont McKenna College
Henry L. Roediger, Washington University in St. Louis
Kathleen McDermott, Washington University in St. Louis
Clayton Stephenson, University of Southern California
Robert Sternberg, Cornell University
Marina Su
Harold Takooshian, Fordham University
Jonathan Wai, Duke University
Sherylle Tan White
Joachim Funke, Heidelberg University, Germany


 * FABBS would like to thank Drs. Heather Butler, Carol Forsyth, Arthur Graesser, and Keith Millis for nominating Dr. Halpern for this honor and for leading the effort to spread the word about her nomination.

You can also honor Diane F. Halpern PhD

It's not too late to have your name added to the list of donors! You can make your donation to this In Honor Of… campaign at anytime.