Peter A. Hancock, D.Sc., Ph.D.

Peter A. Hancock, D.Sc., Ph.D. is Provost Distinguished Research Professor in the Department of Psychology and the Institute for Simulation and Training, as well as at the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and the Department of Industrial Engineering and Management Systems at the University of Central Florida (UCF). At UCF in 2009 he was created the 16th ever University Pegasus Professor (the Institution’s highest honor) and in 2012 was named 6th ever University Trustee Chair. 

Dr. Hancock was the Principal Investigator on a Multi-Disciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI), in which he directed $5 Million of funded research on stress, workload, and performance. It was the first MURI in behavioral science ever awarded by the US Army. He was also the recipient of the first ever research grant (as opposed to contract) given by the Federal Aviation Administration. To date, he has secured over $20 Million in externally funded research during his career. He has been continuously funded by extramural sources for every one of the thirty-plus years of his professional career. This includes support from NASA, NSF, NIH, NIA, FAA, FHWA, NRC, NHTSA, DARPA, NIMH, and all of the branches of US Armed Forces. He has also been supported by numerous State and Industrial agencies. 

Dr. Hancock is the author of over one thousand refereed scientific articles, chapters and reports as well as writing and editing more than twenty books including: Human Performance and Ergonomics in the Handbook of Perception and Cognition series, published by Academic Press in 1999; Stress, Workload, and Fatigue published in 2001 by Lawrence Erlbaum and Performance under Stress which was published in 2008 by Ashgate Publishing. He is the author of the 1997 book, Essays on the Future of Human-Machine Systems and the 2009 text, Mind, Machine and Morality also from Ashgate Publishers. He has also made over 1,000 professional presentations on issues as diverse as human-machine interaction, and psychological deception, to the reign of Richard III. 

In 2015 he was presented with the William Floyd Award of the Institute for Ergonomics and Human Factors of Great Britain in which he is a Chartered Fellow and was made Fellow of the Aerospace Human Factors Association and Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society of Great Britain. He was awarded the Ergonomics Development Award and was the recipient of the inaugural John Wilson/Elsevier Award both of the International Ergonomics Association. Most recently he has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS) and in 2016 was named the 30th Honorary Member of the Institute of industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE). In 2017, he was elected a Member of the International Academy of Aviation and Space Medicine as well as receiving the Specialist Silver Medal Award from the Royal Aeronautical Society. In 2018 he was the recipient of the International Ergonomics Association (IEA) Outstanding Educators Award, (IEA), 2018. In early 2019, Professor Hancock was named as a Member of the 2019 Class of Inductees into the National Center for Simulation’s, Modelling and Simulation “Hall of Fame.” He currently serves as a member of the United States Air Force, Scientific Advisory Board (SAB), which he has served on twice, while simultaneously serving on the US Army Science Board (ASB). In July of 2019, he was elected as the forthcoming President of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society (HFES). He is only the second person ever to have been elected to that position twice. Among a number of hobbies, Dr. Hancock plays golf(poorly) and collects and studies antique maps. More information can be found at: 

Individuals Honoring Peter A. Hancock, D.Sc., Ph.D 

Marc Coutanche, University of Pittsburgh 

Kara Latorella 

Justin Morgan  

Tracy Sanders 

Robert Hoffman, University of West Florida  

Joe Keebler, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University 

James Ferraro, Southern Illinois University 

Halimahtun Mohd Khalid 

Alina Linda Schmitz-Hübsch 

Ben Sawyer, University of Central Florida 

Patricia Tice 

Luciano de Pazos 

Gabriella Hancock, California State University Long Beach  

William Horrey 

Kent Berridge, University of Michigan 

Neil Ganey 

* The FABBS Foundation would like to thank Dr. Neil Ganey,  Dr. Gabriella Hancock, and Dr. Kristin Schaefer-Lay for nominating Dr. Hancock for this honor and for leading the effort to spread the word about his nomination.