National Science Board Appoints New Members

On January 13, President Biden announced the pending appointment of eight members to the National Science Board (NSB), bringing the board to full capacity at 24 members.  

The NSB identifies issues critical to the future of the National Science Foundation (NSF), sets priorities, submits an annual budget, and approves major awards and programs. The Board also serves as an independent body of advisors to the President and Congress on policy issues related to science and engineering. 

The new members are: 

  • Deborah Loewenberg Ball 
  • Vicki L. Chandler 
  • Dorota A. Grejner-Brzezinska 
  • Marvi Ann Matos Rodriguez 
  • Keivan G. Stassun
  • Merlin Theodore 
  • Wanda Elaine Ward 
  • Bevlee A. Watford 

Each member of the NSB serves a six-year term and the director of the National Science Foundation (NSF) serves as an Ex-Officio member. 

FABBS is particularly encouraged to see the appointment of Dr. Wanda Elaine Ward, who has a PhD in Psychology and received the Federation of Behavioral, Psychological, and Cognitive Sciences (FABBS predecessor) Richard T. Louttit Award. Dr. Ward has also served as Assistant Director of the Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences Directorate at the National Science Foundation.  

FABBS also welcomes the return of Deborah Loewenberg Ball, past President of American Educational Research Association (AERA), who had also completed a previous term on the NSB from 2013 to 2018.  

Read more about all of the new appointees’ backgrounds here.

NSB, NSF, White House