Jacquelynne S. Eccles, PhD

Eccles Headshot 2013 180x200

Jacquelynne S. Eccles, PhD

In Honor Of…Jacquelynne S. Eccles

Honoring scientists who have made important and lasting contributions to the sciences of mind, brain, and behavior.

Jacquelynne S.  Eccles, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor of Education
University of California, Irvine

Jacquelynne S. Eccles is the Distinguished Professor of Education at the University of California, Irvine and formerly the McKeachie/Pintrich Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and Education at the University of Michigan, as well as Senior Research Scientist and Director of the Gender and Achievement Research Program at the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan. 

Over the past 30 years, Prof. Eccles has conducted research on a wide variety of topics including gender-role socialization, teacher expectancies, classroom influences on student motivation, and social development in the family and school context. One of the leading developmental scientists of her generation, she has made seminal contributions to the study of achievement-related decisions and development. Most notably, her expectancy-value theory of motivation and her concept of stage-environment have served as perhaps the most dominant models of achievement during the school years, contributing to extensive research and reform efforts to improve the nature of secondary school transitions. Prof. Eccles also has been a major figure in the study of after-school activities, authoring a seminal National Research Council report that outlined the most effective ways for such activities to meet the developmental needs of adolescents. 

Prof. Eccles service to her profession has been extraordinary. She served as Chair of the Advisory Committee for the Social, Behavioral and Economic Directorate at the National Science Foundation, and Chair of the MacArthur Foundation Research Network on Successful Pathways through Middle Childhood. She currently is Editor of the journal Developmental Psychology and was formerly Editor of Journal for Research on Adolescence and Associate Editor of Psychological Bulletin and Child Development. She is president of Division 7 of APA, past president of the Society for Research on Adolescence (SRA) and Division 35 of APA, and has served on the faculty at Smith College, the University of Colorado, the University of Michigan, and the University of California, Irvine. 

Prof. Eccles been honored by several awards including the Kurt Lewin Memorial Award for “outstanding contributions to the development and integration of psychological research and social action” from the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues; lifetime achievement awards from SRA, Division 15 of the American Psychological Association, the American Psychological Society, the Society for the Study of Human Development, and the Self Society; the Bronfennbrenner Award for Research from Division 7 of the APA; the APA Lifetime Award for Service in Supporting Psychological Research; and the APA Gold Medal Award for Life Achievement in Psychology in the Public Interest. She has received honorary degrees from the Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium and the University of Laval in Quebec City, Canada. Finally, she is a member of the National Academy of Education, a World Scholar at the University of London, and Visiting Professor at the University of Tubingen, Germany.


Individuals Honoring Jacquelynne S. Eccles:  

* Eric Anderman, The Ohio State University
Brian Barber,  The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Kent Berridge, University of Michigan 
Phyllis Blumenfeld, University of Michigan
Christy Buchanan, Wake Forest College
Celina Chatman Nelson, University of Illinois, Chicago
Toby Citrin,  University of Michigan
Connie Flanagan, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Carol Freedman-Doan, Eastern Michigan University
Mariane Frenay, Catholic University of Louvain
* Andrew Fuligni, University of California, Los Angeles
Thomas Fuller-Rowell, Auburn University
* Susan Goldman, University of Illinois, Chicago
Rena Harold, Michigan State University
Justin Jager, Arizona State University
Toby Jayaratne, University of Michigan
Lee Jussim, Rutgers University
Ariel Kalil, The University of Chicago
Stuart Karabenick, University of Michigan
Ram Mahalingam, University of Michigan
Laurie Meschke, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Wayne Osgood, The Pennsylvania State University
Stephen Peck, University of Michigan
Paul Richardson, Monash University
Robert Roeser, Portland State University
Diane N. Ruble, New York University
Tara K. Scanlan, University of California, Los Angeles
Barbara Schneider, Michigan State University
Michelle Segar, University of Michigan
Janice Templeton, Fort Lewis College
Allan Wigfield, University of Maryland 

 * The FABBS Foundation would like to thank Drs. Eric Anderman, Andrew Fuligni and Susan Goldman for nominating Dr. Eccles for this honor and for leading the effort to spread the word about her nomination.



You can also honor Jacquelynne S. Eccles, PhD

It's not too late to have your name added to the list of donors! You can make your donation to this In Honor Of… campaign at anytime.