Henry L. Roediger, PhD


Henry L. Roediger, PhD

In Honor Of…Henry “Roddy” Roediger

Honoring scientists who have made important and lasting contributions to the sciences of mind, brain, and behavior.

Henry L. Roediger, PhD
Professor of Psychology
Washington University in St. Louis

Henry L. Roediger, III is the James S. McDonnel Distinguished University Professor at Washington University in St. Louis. He studies human learning and memory and has made contributions to the study of illusory or false memories; implicit memory tests and priming; retrieval practice effects and their implications for education; confidence about memory reports and their accuracy; highly superior memory abilities; and collective memory phenomena, among other topics.

Roediger received a B.A. from Washington & Lee University and a Ph.D. in cognitive psychology from Yale University. He taught at Purdue University, the University of Toronto, and Rice University before coming to Washington University in 1996.

Roediger’s honors and awards include the Howard Crosby Warren Medal from the Society of Experimental Psychologists, the William James Lifetime Achievement Award from the Association for Psychological Science, the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society of Experimental Psychology and Cognitive Science, the John P. McGovern Award from the American Association for the Advancement of Science, as well as the Lifetime Mentoring Award from APS. Roediger has served as the president or chief officer of the Association for Psychological Science, the Psychonomic Society, the Society of Experimental Psychologists and the Midwestern Psychological Association. He received a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship, as well as a Doctor of Social Science, honoris causa, from Purdue University. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Individuals Honoring Henry L. Roediger, III:

Pooja Agarwal, Berklee College of Music
David Balota, Washington University in St. Louis
Deanna Barch, Washington University in St. Louis
Elizabeth Bjork, UCLA
Robert Bjork, UCLA
Ellen and Peter Brown
*Andrew Butler, University of Texas at Austin
Jason Chan, Iowa State University
Patrick Dolan, Drew University
John Dunlosky, Kent State University
Lisa Fazio, Vanderbilt University
Bridgid Finn, Educational Testing Service
David Gallo, The University of Chicago
Lisa Geraci, Texas A&M University
Alice Healy, University of Colorado Boulder
Sean Kang, Dartmouth College
Jeffrey Karpicke, Purdue University
Christine McCormick, University of Massachusetts Amherst
*Mark McDaniel, Washington University in St. Louis
Michelle Meade, Montana State University
John F. Nestojko, Washington University in St. Louis
Kristina Olson, University of Washington
David Payne, Educational Testing Service
James R. Pomerantz, Rice University
Suparna Rajaram, Stony Brook University
Katherine A. Rawson, Kent State University
Robert Sternberg, Cornell University
Ayanna Thomas, Tufts University
Jeffrey Zacks, Washington University in St. Louis


* FABBS would like to thank Dr. Andrew Butler and Dr. Mark McDaniel for nominating Dr. Roediger for this honor and for leading the effort.


You can also honor Henry L. Roediger, PhD

It's not too late to have your name added to the list of donors! You can make your donation to this In Honor Of… campaign at anytime.