Edwin Locke, PhD

Locke Edwin 150px

Edwin Locke, PhD

In Honor Of… Edwin Locke

Honoring scientists who have made important and lasting contributions to the sciences of mind, brain, and behavior.

Edwin Locke, PhD
Dean’s Professor of Leadership and Motivation (Emeritus)
University of Maryland, College Park

Edwin A. Locke is Dean’s Professor of Leadership and Motivation (Emeritus) at the R.H. Smith School of Business at the University of Maryland, College Park. He received his BA from Harvard in 1960 and his Ph.D. in Industrial Psychology from Cornell University in 1964.

He has published over 280 chapters, notes and articles in professional journals, on such subjects as work motivation, job satisfaction, incentives, and the philosophy of science. He is also the author or editor of 11 books, including Study Methods and Study Motivation (Second Renaissance Books, 1998), Goal Setting: A Motivational Technique that Works (Prentice Hall, 1984, with G. Latham), A Theory of Goal Setting and Task Performance (Prentice Hall, 1990, with G. Latham), Handbook of Principles of Organizational Behavior (Blackwell, 2000; 2nd edition Wiley, 2009), The Prime Movers: Traits of the Great Wealth Creators (AMACOM, 2000; 2nd edition Ayn Rand Bookstore, 2008) and Post Modernism and Management: Pros, Cons and the Alternative (Elsevier Science, 2003). His goal setting theory (developed with Gary Latham) was rated as #1 in importance among 73 management theories.

Dr. Locke has been elected a Fellow of the American Psychological Association, of the Association for Psychological Science, and of the Academy of Management. He has won the James McKeen Cattell Award  from the Association for Psychological Science,  Distinguished Scientific Achievement Awards from both the Academy of Management and the Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology, and the Lifetime Achievement Award from the OB division of the Academy of Management. He has been cited more than 9,000 times in the professional literature and has given more than 100 papers at professional conferences. He is interested in the application of the philosophy of Objectivism to the behavioral sciences and has published several articles and chapters on this topic.



Individuals Honoring Edwin Locke
J. Robert Baum, University of Maryland
Stephen J. Carroll, University of Maryland
P. C. Earley, National University of Singapore
Miriam Erez, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
* Leaetta Hough, The Dunnette Group
Timothy A. Judge, University of Florida
Howard J. Klein, Ohio State University
* Gary Latham, University of Toronto
Cynthia Lee
Terence R. Mitchell, University of Washington
Robert D. Pritchard, University of Florida
Lise Saari, New York University
Frank L. Schmidt, University of Iowa
Gerard Seijts, University of Western Ontario

* The FABBS Foundation would like to thank Dr. Leaetta Hough and Dr. Gary Latham for nominating Dr. Locke for this honor and for leading the effort to spread the word about his nomination.


You can also honor Edwin Locke, PhD

It's not too late to have your name added to the list of donors! You can make your donation to this In Honor Of… campaign at anytime.